stillchoose.blogg.se

Apple macbook charger melted
Apple macbook charger melted









I was told that while there was no acknowledgement that there is a problem with the adapter, if there was, it would be a MANUFACTURING defect, which is covered under the extended warranty (which I could purchase today for several hundred dollars). I said that I had not, but I felt this was a safety issue that should be covered in good faith.

apple macbook charger melted apple macbook charger melted

I was asked if I paid for the extended warranty. I went into the Apple Store in Schaumburg, IL and asked the same question, bringing a print out of the complaints from their own website. When I asked how I would know if the new one would start a fire, I was assured that the new cords have been re-engineered (despite having "no problems"). I called Apple Support when I could not find a recall and was told that there was no problem with the MagSafe cord and that I could purchase another one for 80 dollars. The earliest appearing complaint was in August of 2007. C0CBE&fnode=home/shop mac/macaccessories/power&nplm=MA538LL/B). I was shocked to find that there are nearly 350 people on the APPLE website who had the EXACT same problem ( Subsequent to this happening (and keeping in mind that I had an Apple battery that was recalled for starting on fire in the past), I looked on the Apple website to see what my options are. If I had not been in the room, it could have burned down my house. I was able to quickly put out the flame, but the raw wires of the cord were exposed and the plastic "protective" cover was melted and brown. This past week, when the laptop was closed and inactive but charging, I saw the power cord proximal to the magnetic connector spark and a small flame appear where the cord touched the fabric of my couch. Incident or hazard description = I have had a Macbook with the 60W MagSafe power adapter since July 2006. This is a copy of what I sent after much thought today:

Apple macbook charger melted mac#

Since Apple has decided not to protect their customers in this regard I felt it was my only option, despite being a loyal Mac user for more than 10 years.

apple macbook charger melted

After speaking with Apple on the phone, and going into the store, I finally did what I never thought I would do and filed a complaint with the Consumer Product Safety Commission. If you look on the reviews for the 60W MagSafe ppower adapter, you will see that this is certainly not an isolated problem.









Apple macbook charger melted